Cat bites are a relatively small share of animal-bite injuries in some local records, but they can produce puncture wounds with a meaningful risk of infection. The available statistics span Dallas in 1985 and 1988–1989, an El Paso study, clinical wound studies, and national or international summaries. Those periods and geographies are not interchangeable, so each figure below is identified by its source and setting.
Contents
- How common are reported cat bites?
- Who and what is involved?
- Where do cat-bite wounds occur?
- How serious are the wounds?
- Treatment and infection statistics
- Bacteria, vaccination, and rabies context
How common are reported cat bites?
Local reporting provides useful scale, but it should not be treated as a current national rate. In Dallas during 1985, animal-control officers recorded 623 cat bites over 12 months. Cat bites and scratches represented 25% of all 2,494 reported animal bites recorded there that year. A later Dallas observation, covering 1988–1989, found that cat bites made up 25% of 2,745 reported animal bites. Both measurements are historical Dallas records, not estimates for every community.
The World Health Organization animal-bites fact sheet gives a much broader range: cat bites account for 2% to 50% of animal-bite injuries worldwide. The range reflects differences in locations, reporting systems, and study populations rather than a single global rate. The same WHO summary reports a cat-bite injury prevalence of 18 per 100,000 people in Italy.
For the United States, the WHO animal-bites fact sheet reports about 66,000 emergency-department visits for cat bites each year. A separate Animal Bites summary in PubMed/StatPearls says 1% to 2% of all emergency-department visits are for bite wounds, and dog and cat bites together account for more than 95% of bite wounds seen in emergency departments. These figures describe different denominators, so they should not be combined into one calculation.
Who and what is involved?
The Dallas records show several features of the cats and people involved. Stray cats accounted for 57% of reported Dallas cat bites in 1985. Female cats caused 67% of the 623 bites. Of 263 bites from owned cats, 50% were received by the owner or another family member, and family members were bitten by their own cat in 21% of reported cases.
Victims were also not evenly distributed by sex or age. Females represented 59% of Dallas cat-bite victims. People aged 25 to 34 had the highest bite rate, at 8.9 bites per 10,000 population. In the El Paso study, 57.5% of cat-bite victims were female and 68.3% were adults. The El Paso study also found that 89.4% of cat bites were provoked.
The El Paso findings are particularly useful when comparing cat and dog bites within the same study. Among dog bites, 44.6% were provoked, 65.6% of victims were male, and 63% of victims were children. Dogs involved in 65% of those bites had not been vaccinated for rabies, compared with 92% of cats involved in the El Paso cat bites. These comparisons apply to that study population and period, not to all cat or dog bites.
Where do cat-bite wounds occur?
The body location of an injury varies by study and by the age or sex of the victim. In Dallas, 42% of reported bite locations were on the hand, 21% on a finger, and 18% on the arm. Another 8% were on the foot or leg, 7% on the face or neck, and 3% involved multiple body sites.
The Dallas age patterns were distinctive. Among children aged 5 or younger, 33% of bites were on the neck, face, or multiple locations. Among victims aged 25 or older, 90% of bites were on the finger, hand, or arm. By sex, 72% of bites received by males were on the finger or hand, compared with 57% for females.
| Wound location or category | Dallas reported cat bites | Prospective cat-bite study |
|---|---|---|
| Hand | 42% of bite locations | 45% of wounds |
| Finger | 21% of bite locations | Included within hand-related injuries; not separately reported |
| Arm | 18% of bite locations | 22% of wounds |
| Face or neck / head or neck | 7% of bite locations | 15% of wounds |
| Foot or leg / lower extremity | 8% of bite locations | 13% of wounds |
| Multiple sites / trunk | 3% multiple sites | 5% trunk; multiple sites not reported |
The prospective study, titled “Cat bite wounds: risk factors for infection,” included 186 patients with 216 cat-bite or scratch wounds. The mean patient age was 19.5 years, and the mean time from wounding to emergency-department treatment was 10.2 hours. In that study, 45% of wounds were on the hand, 22% on the arm, 15% on the head or neck, 13% on the lower extremity, and 5% on the trunk.
How serious are the wounds?
The Dallas records classified 70% of wounds as scratches, 27% as punctures, and 3% as tears. The prospective clinical study used different categories and found 56% punctures, 25% abrasions, 17% lacerations, and 1% avulsions. These distributions should not be treated as contradictory: they come from different populations and classification systems.
The clinical study also reported wound depth. Overall, 71% of wounds were partial-thickness and 29% were full-thickness. Of the 186 patients, 12.9% had clinical evidence of wound infection on arrival at the emergency department. Another 2.7% developed clinical evidence of infection despite emergency-department treatment. The overall infection rate among cat-bite patients in that study was 15.6%.
Claw injuries were not risk-free in the same research. Among patients with only claw injuries, 7.5% developed infection. That figure describes the study’s claw-injury subgroup and should not be used as a general infection rate for every scratch.
A retrospective analysis cited in “Mammalian Bite Injuries to the Hand and Their Management” reported infection in 37.5% of cat bites versus 14.9% of dog bites. The comparison concerns that cited retrospective analysis, while the prospective study above reported a 15.6% overall infection rate among its cat-bite patients. Different study designs and patient groups can produce different results.
Treatment and infection statistics
In Dallas, 81% of victims sought treatment for their cat-bite wound. Of the treatments recorded, 57% were administered at home and 28% at a physician’s office. Treatment location also differed by the cat’s status: 25% of bites by owned cats led to treatment at an emergency room, compared with 13% of bites by stray cats.
The Dallas treatment figures are historical and describe reported cases, while the prospective clinical study describes patients who reached an emergency department. That distinction matters when interpreting the infection figures. In the clinical study, the average time from wounding to emergency-department treatment was 10.2 hours, and 12.9% already showed clinical evidence of infection on arrival.
The WHO animal-bites fact sheet summarizes the broader risk by stating that cat-bite infection risk is about twice that of dog bites. The CDC Healthy Pets, Healthy People: Cats page gives a wider estimate, saying about 20% to 80% of reported cat bites and scratches become infected. The range is broad and applies to reported bites and scratches in the CDC summary; it should not be substituted for the specific 15.6% result from the prospective study.
The available evidence therefore describes several different measurements: treatment-seeking in a historical Dallas reporting system, infection observed in a clinical study, infection in a retrospective cat-versus-dog analysis, and broad public-health summaries. They are best read as context around risk, not as a single universal probability.
Bacteria, vaccination, and rabies context
In “Bacteriologic analysis of infected dog and cat bites,” infected cat bites yielded a median of 5 bacterial isolates per culture, with a range from 0 to 16. Aerobes and anaerobes were isolated together from 56% of wounds. Aerobes alone were isolated from 36%, anaerobes alone from 1%, and 7% of cultures had no growth.
Pasteurella species were found in 75% of cat bites in that bacteriologic study. The corresponding figure for dog bites was 50%, making cat bites the higher-Pasteurella category in that analysis. These results concern infected bites studied for their bacterial cultures, not every cat bite.
The CDC About Cat Scratch Disease page says some studies have found Bartonella bacteria in the blood of up to 1 in 3 healthy cats, especially kittens. It also says stray cats are more likely than pet cats to be infected with Bartonella henselae. Cat scratch disease is more common among children under 15, and most U.S. cases occur in fall and winter, according to the same CDC source.
Rabies is a separate concern from ordinary wound infection. The WHO Rabies fact sheet says dog bites and scratches cause 99% of human rabies cases, which places cat bites in a smaller but still relevant pathway for rabies exposure. The CDC About Rabies page reports that more than 90 million cats and dogs are vaccinated by veterinarians each year and that nearly 3 out of 4 Americans live in a community where animals carry rabies.
The El Paso study’s vaccination finding adds local context: 92% of cats involved in its cat bites had not been vaccinated for rabies. Because that result comes from a specific study population, it does not establish the vaccination status of cats involved in bites elsewhere.
Finally, the CDC Healthy Pets, Healthy People: Cats page reports that nearly 40 million U.S. households have pet cats. That household figure helps explain why cat-bite prevention and prompt attention to wounds remain relevant public-health topics even though the worldwide share of animal-bite injuries attributed to cats varies from 2% to 50%.